Message sent from:
Ninfield CE School follows the Primary National Curriculum:
The Key Stage 2 curriculum was changed in September 2017, as the school moved to mixed Key Stage 2 classes. We are currently in Cycle A: Cycle B will be updated in 2018.
For further information about year group curriculum please see the class teacher. For termly topic maps see Classes.
Teaching Reading
Children begin their reading in school through building up their phonics, the core building blocks of reading. We use 'Letters and Sounds' as the main programme to guide early reading development. The children then learn to read progressively through our colour coded reading scheme, using a wide variety of books from different schemes such as Oxford Reading Tree, Rigby Star and others. Children do not race through these books but build their confidence and ability through repetition and consolidation of the many words they are adding to their core vocabulary.
Useful websites:


Hit enter to search